Review – One of Us is Lying

01d20758ec4aa48a9dedc3312b1d3a9fdfc1435c16

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.
Sports star Cooper only knows what he’s doing in the baseball diamond.
Bad body Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.
Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.
And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won’t ever talk about any of them again.
He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it’s no accident. All of them are suspects.
Everyone has secrets, right?
What really matters is how far you’ll go to protect them.

Author: Karen M. McManus
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the plot of this book! It was so gripping and the mystery side was not obvious at all. As soon as you thought you’d guessed who was guilty, something changed and you were as confused as you were at the beginning (although in a good way).

giphy
Honestly in a way this book didn’t feel like young adult. It wasn’t the writing style, or the characters, or even the plot. There was just something about it that felt older. Maybe it was because it was such a serious topic.

I usually don’t enjoy books where each chapter is told from the viewpoint of a different character – as this was written – but I didn’t mind it too much here. It could be confusing at times, but that was mostly in parts where I was reading so smoothly I didn’t even realise there was a new chapter. I don’t think this book could’ve been written any other way, and it was an enjoyable element.

giphy1
There wasn’t even one character that I didn’t like. At the start, I thought I wouldn’t get on with Addy, because she’s the sort of girl I wouldn’t get on with in real life, but she was nothing like you’d expect her to be. The only character I didn’t like was Cooper’s dad, but he was written as someone you’re not supposed to like (for reasons I can’t explain due to spoilers!).

I think I loved everything about this book! I’m so glad there was some LGBTQIA+ themes included (obviously that’s my favourite thing haha). I loved the suspense in it too. The whole thing felt realistic, despite the quite complicated topic.

Find this book on Goodreads

Happy reading xo

Leave a Reply

