Review – Replica

19832505_1183725901733273_1658032886_nLyra’s story begins in the Haven Institute, a building tucked away on a private island off the coast of Florida that from a distance looks serene and even beautiful. But up close the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story. In truth, Haven is a clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas, or human models, are born, raised, and observed. When a surprise attack is launched on Haven, two of its young experimental subjects—Lyra, or 24, and the boy known only as 72—manage to escape.

Gemma has been in and out of hospitals for as long as she can remember. A lonely teen, her life is circumscribed by home, school, and her best friend, April. But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family’s past and discovers her father’s mysterious connection to the secretive Haven research facility. Hungry for answers, she travels to Florida, only to stumble upon two replicas and a completely new set of questions.

While the stories of Lyra and Gemma mirror each other, each contains breathtaking revelations critically important to the other story. Replica is an ambitious, thought-provoking masterwork.

Author: Lauren Oliver
Format: Hardback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t believe I waited so long to read this book! I have been eyeing it up for a while, so when I saw it in a local Waterstones store for half price I couldn’t resist.

There are three ways you can read this book – read Lyra’s story first, Gemma’s story first, or alternate chapters. I chose to read a chapter then flip the book, and I’m so glad I did it in this way! Some of the chapters where Lyra and Gemma were experiencing the same things felt repetitive, so I think I would’ve skimmed or been annoyed by this had I read each story in turn.

There was a lot of mystery included in the book – the truth about the Haven Institute, that of Gemma’s father’s secrets. It made it suspenseful, and I knew I had to keep reading to find out what was going on.

Also, I don’t tend to read books this long (somewhere between 200 and 400 is average),  so I was concerned I would find it boring. The split between the two stories really helped to break it up though, and make it an easier read.

If you’re a fan of Orphan Black, I would definitely recommend this book. There are some similarities (as well as differences), and if you’ve enjoyed one, I’m positive you’ll enjoy the other! If you’re new to the whole clone thing though, this is sure to be a catch!

Happy Reading xo

 

Leave a Reply

