Review – Children of Eden

31422702
As an illegal Second Child, Rowan has been hidden away in her family’s compound for sixteen years. Now, restless and desperate to see the world, she recklessly escapes for what she swears will be only one night of adventure. Though she finds an exotic world, and even a friend, the night leads to tragedy. Soon Rowan becomes a renegade on the run – unleashing a chain of events that could change the world of Eden forever.

 

 

Author: Joey Graceffa
Format: Hardback
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
Rating: ★★★★

I’m glad I finally got around to reading this book that my friend bought me for Christmas! I was so excited to read it, and (most of it) didn’t disappoint.

All the characters were likable in some way. I think it was incredibly brave of Rowan’s family to keep her, despite the consequences it would have had for them if they had been found out. Of course, giving up your child would be an almost impossible decision, however, it would have been more understandable given her parent’s status and jobs.

The plot played out at a good pace. At first, I thought it was going to be slow, with the descriptions of everything in Eden. However, this wasn’t overdone and it was only included when needed.

The one criticism I have of the book is one of the worst things I think that could happen. I didn’t like the ending. I mean, it wasn’t necessarily a bad ending, but it was a frustrating one. It could have been done a lot better.

Overall, I’m glad I didn’t start the book having too many expectations as I think I may have been disappointed. I liked it though, and would definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

