Review – Ink

32827036
Every action, every deed, every significant moment is tattooed on your skin forever. When Leora’s father dies, she is determined to see her father remembered forever. She knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to stand as a record of his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether she ever knew him at all.

 

 

Author: Alice Broadway
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Scholastic Ltd.
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m happy to say this book managed to get me out of my slump! I started this book and managed two or three chapters and I read basically nothing for almost a month. Then, last weekend, I sat myself down and thought about how much I missed reading. I forced myself to pick up the book. I finished the whole thing.

Although I’ve given it five stars, this wasn’t my favourite book. I did really like it though.

One of the only issues I had with this book is I didn’t really understand what time period the book was supposed to be in. A lot of it felt old, but then some aspects were quite modern, for example, the ideas given about some of the architecture and the use of modern tattooing technology. Also, a few parts of the book were predictable, or maybe I’m just good at guessing what’s going to happen.

I absolutely loved the plot of this book. Once I got into it, I craved for more of the story. Also, I loved most of the characters, which helped me to enjoy the book even more. One of my favourite characters was definitely Verity, she was always there for Leora and did her best to help her, despite the risks that she faced herself.

Overall, this was really a fascinating book, and I can’t wait to be able to read the next one!

Happy reading xo

2 thoughts on “Review – Ink

Leave a Reply

