Top 5 Wednesday: Future Classics

This is a weekly book meme started a while ago, visit this group on Goodreads to join!

Today’s prompt is ‘future classics’, which means books that I think could be (or even just should be) considered classics in the future. This will be in no particular order!

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Schbosky
4327066

This is a really important book that deals with issues including mental illness and child sexual abuse. The book focuses on how a teenager copes with these issues whilst starting high school (albeit not in his first year). The book is written in the format of letters that Charlie writes to an anonymous ‘friend’, which gives the book an interesting boost.

 

2. Asking For It – Louise O’Neill
26218889

Only Ever Yours could’ve also gone onto this list but I think Asking For It is the more important one. The book focuses on Emma, who is raped at a party, but remembers nothing. It looks at important issues including consent and victim-blaming that are still really taboo topics, despite a small increase in reports of sexual assaults. Asking For It is a raw, emotional read that shouldn’t be taken lightly, but it is extremely important.

3. Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne

23592235
Am I Normal Yet? is another book that looks at mental illness in teens, but this book also includes a lot about feminism. Even as someone who has done quite a bit of research on feminist issues before reading this book, I still felt like I learned a lot from it. I think this book looks at issues in such a way that they aren’t pushed aside, but it brings humour to some of the ‘dark’ bits to help us understand. It could definitely be required reading.

4. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling

22841994
This is such an obvious choice, but I couldn’t not include it. I feel like I don’t even have to say anything about this book or why it should be considered a classic, but it’s a book that even those who read it when it first came out are reading it again, whilst some people are still discovering it. It’s just one of those that you know is going to be popular for a long time.

5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Sáenz

15801353
This is a book that I wanted to re-read as soon as I’d finished it! It focuses on two boys developing a good friendship, and then coming to terms with their feelings for each other. One of my favourite things about this book is that it also looks at a race issue I’ve actually never seen in a book before, which is the boys being Mexican. This book definitely has the potential to become a classic.

 

That’s it for this week’s post, I had fun writing this one. I will admit, if I’m a little bit stuck with a prompt or even just not keen on it, I won’t write a post for it, which is why some of them are a bit inconsistent.

Happy Reading xo

Leave a Reply

