Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

This is a weekly book meme started a while ago, visit this group on Goodreads to join!

Today’s prompt is “Favourite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books”, and although I don’t tend to read too much in these genres, I definitely still have some favourites! I’d also like to note these are not in a particular order.

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Series – Ransom Riggs

9460487

This is almost my actual favourite book of all time! Honestly, it sounds cliche but I feel like this is the book I’ve been looking for my whole life to read. I fell in love with the characters, the setting, the plot… everything!

 

 

2.Caraval – Stephanie Garber

30964236

This is one of my most recent fantasy reads, and I have to say, I loved it so much more than I was expecting to. It’s set in a magical world, and there’s something new for you to discover on every page. I’d definitely recommend it to fans of The Night Circus too.

 

3.Cinder – Marissa Meyer

11235712

This was a book that I feel started quite differently to how it ended. The further you go through the book, the more there is to the story, the setting, the characters… there’s some really good developments in this book. I’ve only read the first one so far, but I have Scarlett ready and waiting on my TBR shelf!

 

4.Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake

I read this last year when I had a bit of a fantasy-themed month. I’ll admit, 28374007it took me a while to get into it, but once I got a feel for the three main characters (sisters, each chapter focused on a different sister) then I really enjoyed it. There was a massive plot twist at the end which I wasn’t expecting, but now I can’t wait for the second one!

 

5.Coraline – Neil Gaiman

It20764916 took me way too long to read this book, much longer than I’d like to admit after watching the film in the cinema. I feel like Coraline was a very relatable character, she wanted to feel valued by her parents and fell into the ‘trap’ of her other mother who she thought would give her what her parents weren’t. I don’t feel like there’s too much to say about this book as the film follows the book very closely and so many people have seen it! One of the only things I will say though is that I loved the illustrations in this edition of the book.

Next week’s prompt is “books you felt betrayed by”. What are your favourite science fiction and fantasy books?

Happy Reading xo

Leave a Reply

