Review – Am I Normal Yet?

aminormalyet

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

 

Author: Holly Bourne
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Rating: ★★★★★

The first thing I have to say about this book is what a good way to start the new year! This is the first book I’ve read in 2017, and also the first book of the British Books Challenge 2017.

I loved loved loved this book! It’s the kind of book I’ve always wanted to read but never found, and I can’t believe I put off reading it for so long.

One of the most important positives about this book is that it deals with complex and important issues – feminism and mental illness. Feminism is not a topic I’ve seen widely addressed in young adult books, but it is something that young adults need to learn about and be aware of.

Mental illness is becoming less stigmatized in books, meaning it hasn’t been a less common topic recently, but this book addresses it in a way I feel many other books don’t. Some will mention the character’s mental illness at one point then never talk about it again, while others force it to be the main plotline where it shouldn’t be. Bourne, however, gets it perfect with this book, making it an important factor to the plot but allowing it to be kind of ‘pushed back’ a bit where necessary.

One of the things I really like about this book is that it is serious, but humorous at the same time. It helps to break up the topics slightly, and it also adds humour to bits that would otherwise be too serious. Take the following quote as an example…

“Because now people use the phrase OCD to describe minor personality quirks. “Oooh, I like my pens in a line, I’m so OCD.”
NO YOU’RE FUCKING NOT.
“Oh my God, I was so nervous about that presentation, I literally had a panic attack.”
NO YOU FUCKING DIDN’T.
“I’m so hormonal today. I just feel totally bipolar.”
SHUT UP, YOU IGNORANT BUMFACE.”

This quote is so accurate of things I’ve heard myself, and although it’s serious because it shows how people treat mental illness almost as a joke, the way it’s written also makes it funny.

I think this book is something that would be interesting to all young people, it’s educational whilst also being humorous and fictional.

Find this book on Goodreads

Happy Reading xo

4 thoughts on “Review – Am I Normal Yet?

Leave a Reply

