Rainbow Blog Challenge Day 5 – Feeling Blue

This challenge is hosted by Le Book Chronicleselle.biblioMy Life in BooksRach with booksthe reader dragon, and legenbooksdary.

The prompt for Day Five is “Feeling Blue – Favourite books with mental health issues”.

As I mentioned in one of my previous challenge posts, I have a sort of fascination with reading books concerning mental health. I think it’s because it is still such a big taboo issue that we really need to raise awareness of.

Just as a warning, some of the things mentioned in this post could be considered spoilers, but I’ll mostly just mention what mental health issues are considered in the book.

4327066
I feel like I’ve spoken about this book in every single post I’ve made, but I think that’s just proof of how good the book is. I think one of the most taboo issues faced in this book is sexual abuse, which is a kind of main focus of the book (considering how Charlie deals with it). Charlie does not mention any other illnesses he has been diagnosed with, however it is possible that he suffers from post-traumatic stress disorder, and depression.

248704
I adored this book! The main character, Craig, admits himself into an adult psychiatric ward after a near suicide attempt, and despite his desperateness to get out (he kind of didn’t mean to admit himself?), he forms relationships with many of the people in there. This is a good book for reducing the stigma against those in psychiatric wards, as a lot of people still negatively stereotype them. As well as showing the ‘sad’ side of suicide and depression, the book balances it out with funny parts, too.

18460392
This book deals with a girl grieving over her sister’s death, meeting a boy who wants to kill himself. The story is absolutely beautiful, and I haven’t cried at any book recently as much as I cried at this. The characters, Violet and Finch, first form a friendship, that leads on to a romantic relationship. The relationship development happens at a good pace, and is lead to just the right place before the shocking, unexpected ending. If you don’t like books that make you cry, don’t read this one.

270805
I haven’t read as many of Hopkins’ books as I would like, but mostly all of them deal with mental health issues. Her most well known book is Crank, focusing on a girl with a drug addiction. Impulse looks at three teens in a psychiatric hospital, all of them have attempted suicide in different ways, and they all have very different backgrounds and struggles. The book is about these three people forming a friendship, and working towards the wilderness challenge to get them out of the hospital.

23398763
This is a book I haven’t heard many people talk about, despite how good it is. What I’m gonna talk about now could be considered big spoilers, just a warning! The book focuses on a Chinese-American family living in 1970s Ohio. At the beginning, they find out their daughter, Lydia, is dead, and the main focus of the book is the family talking about their past, and also discovering what has happened to Lydia. I loved discovering the background to the family and how their lives had been affected by what happened!

I could go on and on about this topic, but I’ll stick to five! If you have any mental health-focused book recommendations, I would love to hear them!

Happy reading xo

 

Leave a Reply

