Review – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

 
Authors: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne
Format: Hardback Copy
Publisher: Little Brown UK
Rating: ★★★★★

So many Harry Potter have negative opinions of this book and I can completely understand why, but personally I really enjoyed it. I think one of the problems lots of people have is the fact that it’s so different to the other books. The most obvious difference being the format (as this is written as a script), but also the book is less descriptive, magic-focused and is a lot more mature. Personally I don’t think I would want another book in the same format as the others, Deathly Hallows was a good end for the series.

One of the things I really liked about this is the fact that we got to see a lot of the characters from the series (including some I definitely wasn’t expecting to see), this felt a lot better than if it had focused just on Harry on his family.

The relationship between Draco and Harry was different, but it wasn’t horrible. To be honest, I’d always hoped that some form of friendship would develop between them, and although this isn’t exactly friendship, it’s better. Also, this lead me to love the relationship between Albus and Scorpious, although I can’t help feeling there was something more between them.

If I’m honest, I’m quite stuck on what else to write. I think because of it being a Harry Potter story, I couldn’t dislike it if I tried, so it’s difficult to be specific with my likes and dislikes regarding the book. The only negative thing that I will mention is that I felt as though some parts of it were rushed and a bit under-developed, at times it just felt like lots of strange things were happening, and some if it felt slightly random. Despite this, I still extremely enjoyed it overall, and it had a good ending.

Find this book on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

