Review – Girl Hearts Girl

30656895
In 2010, at seventeen, Lucy Sutcliffe began an online friendship with Kaelyn, a young veterinary student from Michigan. Within months, they began a long distance relationship, finally meeting in the summer of 2011. Lucy’s video montage of their first week spent together in Saint Kitts, which she posted to the couple’s YouTube channel, was the first in a series of films documenting their long-distance relationship. Funny, tender and candid, the films attracted them a vast online following. Now, for the first time, Lucy’s writing about the incredible personal journey she’s been on; from never quite wanting the fairy-tale of Prince Charming to realising she was gay at the age of 14, through three years of self-denial to finally coming out to friends and family, to meeting her American girlfriend Kaelyn.

Author: Lucy Sutcliffe
Format: Paperback Copy
Publisher: Scholastic
Rating: ★★★★★

I’d like to mention that before hearing about this book, I never watched any of Lucy and Kaelyn’s videos. I heard about the book through Diva Magazine where I won a competition. This review has in no way been affected by that, although if you haven’t heard of the magazine before I suggest you check it out!

One of the things I really liked about this book was the fact that Sutcliffe included lots about her life before meeting Kaelyn. She focused on things from quite a young age, which made the book more interesting to read, I think if it had focused solely on her relationship with Kaelyn, I would’ve become bored of it quickly.

Although it wasn’t exactly a positive experience for Sutcliffe, it was good to read about her experience of discovering herself and her sexuality. It felt like it took her quite a while to accept herself, which can be a common experience for a lot of LGBT+ people. One of the ways that I was able to relate to Sutcliffe in this book is that my friends and family were very accepting of me coming out.

One of the only problems I had with this book was that I didn’t feel like there was much emotion explained concerning Lucy and Kaelyn’s relationship. There was stuff about how they met, and how they filmed their time together, revealing the start of their youtube channel and ‘fame’, but I would’ve liked more about their  feelings, or even just about experiences they have shared together.

Regardless of the fact I didn’t know much about Lucy and Kaelyn before reading this book, I’m definitely glad I picked it up. It was inspiring, and I got so engrossed in it that I almost read it in one sitting!

Find this book on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

