Review – Carol

27857625

Therese is just an ordinary sales assistant working in a New York department store when a beautiful, alluring woman in her thirties walks up to her counter. Standing there, Therese is wholly unprepared for the first shock of love. Therese is an awkward nineteen-year-old with a job she hates and a boyfriend she doesn’t love; Carol is a sophisticated, bored suburban housewife in the throes of a divorce and a custody battle for her only daughter. As Therese becomes irresistibly drawn into Carol’s world, she soon realises how much they both stand to lose…

 

First published pseudonymously in 1952 as The Price of Salt, Carolis a hauntingly atmospheric love story set against the backdrop of fifties New York.

Author: Patricia Highsmith
Format: Paperback Copy
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Rating: ★★★★

I watched this film before I read the book because I wasn’t sure if I’d get into it. I absolutely loved the film, but I think I give it slight preference over the book.

Because I’m so far behind on my reviews, I’m writing this just over a month after I finished this book. When I think about how I felt while reading the book, I can honestly only remember the negatives.

One of the problems I had with this book was the way Carol was written, especially concerning her ’emotions’. I feel like Carol acted quite horribly towards Therese throughout the book. She constantly seemed to act cold towards her. It also felt like Highsmith used little adverbs to give emotion to the characters, so sometimes I felt as though I was having to put my own emotion into the characters.

Some of the things I do really like about the book is the storyline. Although the book shows the difficulty of being LGBT in 50s New York, it didn’t just focus on that. The situation with Rindi and Harge made the book more enticing.

Overall, I don’t think the book was so bad, there were just certain elements of it that have lead me to prefer the film over the book.

Find this book on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

