Review – Girl, Interrupted

475267

In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she’d never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next two years on the ward for teenage girls in a psychiatric hospital as renowned for its famous clientele — Sylvia Plath, Robert Lowell, James Taylor and Ray Charles.

 

 

 

Author: Susanna Kaysen
Format: Paperback – 168 Pages
Publisher: Virago
Rating: ★★★★

I read this book after watching a film so I kind of had a general idea of the plot. I think the differences between the book and the film made it good as I think if the film was the same as the book it might have been a bit boring.

I loved each characters individuality and the fact that they all coped differently with being in the hospital. This book was so good that I managed to read it in one sitting which even with a short book I don’t normally do.

The characters in the book felt very real, and easily relatable. They give the reader the ability to feel a lot of different emotions, and many characters have a little bit of backstory throughout. I definitely cried at the book, which I expected I would as I cried at the film.

Find this book on Goodreads

 

2 thoughts on “Review – Girl, Interrupted

Leave a Reply

