Review – The Program

11366397
Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.
Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.

Author: Suzanne Young
Format: Paperback – 405 Pages
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Rating: ★★★★★

I finished this book last night and it was so good! Honestly, I’m so overrun with schoolwork at the minute, but I still managed to finish this in two days because I was addicted.

I completely wasn’t expecting this book to go the way I did because I thought it would be too predictable, but it was so good! At first I felt a little bit like it was rushed and we were getting too much information at once, but once that had passed the progression and pace was better.

I love the development and the changes of the characters. I think what I was expecting from The Program (as in the actual program in the book, not just the book itself) was that people came out of it with their brains completely wiped, as if they would have to start their lives all over again from babies or something similar – you get the gist. But this wasn’t the case at all, and *SPOILER* I liked the way Young wrote about Sloane’s transition between the real world and the program, both to it and from it.

The only thing that annoyed me a little was Roger and the purple pill. I disliked his character immensely and the way he acted to Sloane made me feel sick. However Sloane is told by Realm that the purple pill doesn’t work at all, but then later on he changes mind and tell her it does work, but the memories returned have no context. This change of story annoyed me.

Apart from that, this book was absolutely amazing and I can’t wait to read the next one.

Find this book on Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review – The Program

  1. I skipped the spoiler part because I haven’t read it yet, but great review! This book has been sitting on my shelves for years, and I really need to get around to picking it up haha. Good to hear that you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

