Review – Frozen Charlotte

233570711

We’re waiting for you to come and play. Dunvegan School for Girls has been closed for many years. Converted into a family home, the teachers and students are long gone. But they left something behind…Sophie arrives at the old schoolhouse to spend the summer with her cousins. Brooding Cameron with his scarred hand, strange Lilias with a fear of bones and Piper, who seems just a bit too good to be true. And then there’s her other cousin. The girl with a room full of antique dolls. The girl that shouldn’t be there. The girl that died.

 

 

Author: Alex Bell
Format: Paperback Copy – 368 Pages
Publisher: Stripes Publishing
Rating: ★★★★

I’m not going to deny this book was really creepy. Before reading it I never knew Frozen Charlotte dolls were a thing that exist, however this book made me look further into them and despite how scary they are, when I was looking I kind of wanted to buy one. I think it was pretty clear from the beginning that Piper wasn’t completely normal at all, But I really wasn’t expecting her to be the way she was. I think throughout the book I kept telling myself it wouldn’t be her that had done the things people said she had, and the beach scene towards the end was totally unexpected.

Throughout the book I felt sorry for Lilias, but some of the things she said were definitely creepy. It kind of made me angry that their dad didn’t do more about the strange behaviour, I think even if I didn’t believe my children that ‘dolls’ were affecting their life, I’d get rid of them just to keep my children happy and away from what they thought would hurt them.

I got this book in the Red Eye set for Christmas and so far this is the only one I have read but I am excited to read the rest. This review has been quite difficult to write as I read the book a while ago now and I can’t remember as many details as I would if I had written the review straight after, but I feel like it still gets my point across. If I had to sum this book up I’d definitely say it’s creepy with the ability to keep you up at night.

Find this book on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

