Review – Oliver The Cat Who Saved Christmas

25261908A friend who brings light at the darkest of times…

Oliver the cat is a timid little thing, and rarely ventures from his home in the Foresters’ Arms.

Then his life changes dramatically when a fire breaks out in the pub kitchen and he is left homeless and afraid. But, with the kindness of the humans around him, he soon learns to trust again. And, in his own special way, he helps to heal those around him.

However, it isn’t until he meets a little girl in desperate need of a friend that he realises this village needs a Christmas miracle…

Author: Sheila Norton
Format: Hardback Copy – 320 Pages
Publisher: Ebury Press
Rating: ★★★★★

I received this book as a gift for Christmas, and I’m so glad I got it! At first, I found it weird that the book was narrated by a cat, mainly because I don’t remember ever reading a book from this point of view before, but after a while I got into it.

I’m not ashamed to say I cried from the start of the book. As a cat owner myself, it was hard not to think of my own cats in that situation, and this of course provoked the tears. It took me a few days to get into this book, and then I read it really quickly!

I loved how smart Oliver was and how he helped people, however I did find it annoying when the characters would say “it’s as if he was leading me to it” or similar because even in that situation I think you would be able to recognise that the cat was trying to show you something. I just don’t understand why these people presumed he was dumb.

(SPOILERISH???) when I first read the book description and started the actual book I thought the ‘girl who needed a christmas miracle’ was Sarah’s daughter, and I was a little shocked when I realised this wasn’t the case. It wasn’t a bad point though, just something I don’t think the reader expects.

Overall, I loved this book, and again I am not ashamed to admit I cried at multiple parts of it.

Find this book on Goodreads

 

 

One thought on “Review – Oliver The Cat Who Saved Christmas

Leave a Reply

