Review – The Secrets of Drearcliff Grange School

25605109A week after Mother found her sleeping on the ceiling, Amy Thomsett is delivered to her new school, Drearcliff Grange in Somerset. Although it looks like a regular boarding school, Amy learns that Drearcliff girls are special, the daughters of criminal masterminds, outlaw scientists and master magicians. Several of the pupils also have special gifts like Amy’s, and when one of the girls in her dormitory is abducted by a mysterious group in black hoods, Amy forms a secret, superpowered society called the Moth Club to rescue their friend. They soon discover that the Hooded Conspiracy runs through the School, and it’s up to the Moth Club to get to the heart of it.

Author: Kim Newman
Format: Paperback, 400 pages
Publisher: Titan Books
Rating: ★★★

The main thing that enticed me to read this book was honestly the cover. It gave off a ‘spooky’ aesthetic impression and of course fits with the book as I presume the girl pictured floating is Amy. 

After buying the book, it took me a while to read it, and it was a slow read, but this was also due to my workload at sixth form and other commitments meaning I didn’t have much time to read. However, I think I read most of the book in three days.

Personally I thought that the start of the book where Kali was kidnapped was quite unnecessary. I understand it fits with character development and links with the rest of the book however I don’t think Newman really needed to go into as much detail about the kidnapping as he did. Because I wasn’t so keen on this, I felt as though I rushed a little to finish the rest of the book and skimmed a little when there was a lot of detail which didn’t need to be there (for example, the list of all the things that had ‘happened since Amy left school’ which took up almost a whole page).

Despite this, I still enjoyed the story and found the characters likeable. The different Abilities that the Unusuals had was interesting and I liked the fact that they found ways to make their Abilities useful.

Leave a Reply

